Costa Rican Flora

Costa Rica’s seasons are vastly different than Northern Michigan’s. Well, actually, Northern Michigan is unique in its season’s as well so maybe that isn’t a fair comparison.

Our backyard is a bamboo forest!

That being said, Costa Rica is 8 and 12 degrees north of the Equator and generally has a tropical climate. As I have posted before, the climate here varies depending on your location within the country. In a matter of hours you can experience hot, dry countryside, humid rainforests, and moderate, breezy hillside retreats.

There are two seasons here: summer and winter. Summer is considered the ‘drier’ season, a period of less to no rain between December and April, when locals generally vacation. Winter is the rainy season between May and November where, depending on your location, there will always be rain mid to late afternoon. I have yet to experience winter (I can’t shake image of blustering wind and snow!) but Pilar, the lovely host at Casa de las Tias explained it as everything turning green. “After the dry season when everything is brown and dusty, you long for winter. Everything turns green – the trees, your yard, your clothes, even you turn green!” I’m beginning to sense there is a mold problem in winter; I discovered in a purse I

These bushes are everywhere, small and Jurassic-Park-style large

bought recently an “anti-mold patch,” I hope to book it out before I turn green…

The surrounding mountains generally protect Costa Rica’s Central Valley from problematic weather coming from either coast. As our translator, and overall Costa Rican know-it-all, explained, when areas of pressure approach from the Pacific or Atlantic Oceans the hit the mountain ranges and generally stay put until it runs its course. This means that in the Central Valley, year round temperatures of 70°-80°F.

With this in mind, I wanted to dedicate a post to the amazing flora that surrounds us, so lush even in summer. Most of these photos are of plants growing in our backyard (I think that makes it even cooler).

Aloe Vera plants, growing along the North wall of the house

One of the many lime trees at Casa de las Tias

These are 'planted' on trees by birds, they grow, the birds now have a nest.

Our banana tree!

A ylang-ylang tree - around 4pm it's fragrance permeates the neighborhood.

Something familiar! Though these are as big as my head.

I would love to elaborate but I am lucky to have had internet this long. The most frustrating thing, along with Tico Time, is the unreliability of the internet; I began writing this post this morning.

I am practicing my patience. – Jes

2 responses to “Costa Rican Flora

  1. It looks like heaven…and this is the dry season? Can’t wait to see pictures of the wet season. Love your posts Jessie, I check twice a day to see what you have to say! Gail

Leave a Reply

