Recipe: Greek Frittata, Garlic Potatoes with Green Beans and Kale

Ok, I’m on a cooking kick and it is amazing.

Sunday, as most of you know, is not a day of rest for us. Nick’s biggest work day is Sunday, so we generally treat the weekend as the start to the work week. I’m here to help those work days go by smoothly, so, I cook. And the cooking bug has bit me hard. For breakfast I made a tomato, spinach, and feta frittata, inspired by some internet gawking and smoothie boredom. This is a great way to use the beautiful spinach we got from the Escazú organic market.

A frittata, Dad, as I’m sure you’re already making fun of, is essentially a no-fold omelet.

Greek Frittata (for two):

  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1 small to medium onion, diced
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 a small tomato, diced
  • 1 cup spinach
  • Feta cheese, to taste (I used about 1/8 cup)
  • 4 eggs
  • Salt, pepper to taste

Over medium heat, saute onions in olive oil until translucent, then add garlic and tomato. Once garlic is golden, add spinach and mix to combine. Cover while you crack your eggs. Whisk the eggs, feta, and season with salt and pepper. Pour over the ingredients in the pan and mix gently so that everything is incorporated. Reduce the heat to low and cover. You’re ready to eat when the top of the frittata is cooked and the edges come away from the pan.

It was delicious. The bottom is golden brown, toasty almost.

Lunch consisted of leftovers tossed into a hot oil-less pan, toasted whole wheat pita, and sliced peppers and cucumber. Oh, and more feta.

Dinner was nothing special. We don’t keep meat on hand and I wasn’t sure what we had that could make a complete meal. Not to mention we had company over who I know can pack it away. I had a sack of potatoes sitting around, I bought when I thought I had an oven and was looking forward to roasted baby potatoes… So boiled potatoes it was and a beautiful new dish was created.

I love combining basic ingredients I have sitting around, especially when they combine to form deliciousness. I started by cleaning, slicing, and soaking whatever potatoes I had on hand (little yellow guys in this case). By soaking them for about a half hour you can reduce the starch content, rinse them, then return them to the pot with water to boil. Depending on the size you sliced them, they could take 20-40 minutes to cook until tender. I also salted the water prior to boilage.

In a separate pan, you guessed it, I began sauteing onions and garlic (same method as above). Since I only had potatoes as a base to work with I used a larger portion of both than usual to add flavor to an otherwise bland dish. Add green beans, I sliced to about 1 cm on a bias (because it’s cute), and stir. Saute these guys briefly while you grab your pre-washed and pre-sliced kale. I essentially coarsely chopped the kale so that I could put it in the pan with a little water and steam with the lid on. Drain the potatoes when done and return to the pot. Once the kale is cooked and there is a very small amount of water left, pour the mixture over the potatoes. Add a small amount of parmesean, gently stir, add more parmesean, gently stir, etc. It’s key to not add all the cheese at once or it will clump. Trust me. I know my cheese.

Garlic Potatoes with Green Beans and Kale

  • ~4 cups Potatoes, cubed, NOT peeled (fiber, people, fiber)
  • 2 Tb Olive Oil
  • 1 small to medium Onion, diced
  • 4 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1-2 cups Green Beans, slice on bias (‘cus it’s eye appealing)
  • 2 cups Kale, coarsely shopped
  • 1/8 cup H2O
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan, shredded

No photo to brag, the boys ate it before I could even think about snapping a quick shot. I have to say, I have never felt so appreciated doing something I love. Every meal today, Nick went out of his way to tell me how much he appreciates it. I feel so loved.

Eat it, love it, and feel good about it. – Jes

Leave a Reply

