What Can’t You Put Tzatziki On?

Ok, a few things come to mind but really, yogurt-based sauces and dips is where it’s at.

Although I did not think it could be any better, I got bit by the Greek bug again and made some improvements on the Greek Attack recipes.

Delicious, delicious improvements.

I hate measuring and following recipes, unless I’m baking; I think of them more as guidelines. Below are the original “guidelines” with the changes made in italics:

Zucchini, Spinach, and Feta Fritters

  • 1 cup Zucchini, shredded, drained
  • 1 cup Spinach, cooked, drained, finely chopped
  • 1 small Onion, julienned, sauteened
  • 3 cloves Garlic, minced, sauteened
  • 1 2 Eggs, whisked
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • a pinch of Dill
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp Pepper
  • 2 heafty tsp salt
  • 1/2 1 cup Flour, sifted
  • Olive Oil

Garlic Tzatziki

  • 16 10 oz thick Plain Yogurt, drained, Greek is ideal but nonexistent down here
  • 1 medium Cucumber, seeded, cubed (smaller!)
  • 32 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 3 Tb Olive Oil
  • 1 Tb White wine vinegar, I used balsamic and it turned out fine, balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp Dill
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Did you catch all that? For those who aren’t visual learners like myself, here’s a recap:

I want to bake these instead of fry, but no luck. The most notable, and therefore tasty, difference came from sauteing the onions and garlic before adding it to the mixture; it really adds depth to the whole fritter. More cheese, obviously. I also added another egg, whisking the two, then adding it to the bowl after everything else was mixed. I decided not to cook the spinach and instead roughly chopped it. More egg equals more flour so that got bumped up to a full cup but add it slowly, use less or more as needed. No dill this time.


The tzatziki sauce really got a revamp this time around. I made a smaller, more potent batch: more cucumber, less yogurt, but the same amount of everything else. I ended up cutting the garlic back slightly because it really had a bite to it! I will warn you that the new version I doubt qualifies as the traditional, mellow tzatziki.

That being said, it makes an amazing pasta salad dressing. I mean so-delicious-had-to-make-a-second-batch kinda good. I may have an obsession with tzatziki – is it not the perfect sauce? I used whole wheat spiral pasta (really holds the goods!), added shredded Parmesan cheese, and chilled in the fridge. Be prepared to ditch your usual dressing, and this is one you can feel good about it! Protein, low-fat (the fats present are the good mono- and polyunsaturated), fiber if you get a good whole-wheat pasta… You can whip it up in no time and the small cucumber cubes add the perfect crunch.

Hungry yet?

-Jes

Leave a Reply

