I Like corn, I like Potatoes

Yes, it’s true.

Starchy vegetables are my comfort food and comfort is something I have been craving. Not to say that I am uncomfortable, no, but longing for cozy, snug, warm, pleasant… (thank you, thesaurus).

Fall. Tomorrow is the Autumnal equinox.

Apples and cinnamon, crunchy leaves, oranges, yellows, crisp air, jeans, scarfs, tea and wool socks. Change.

Go ahead, scold me for wishing to speed up the seasons, knowing that the dreaded winter follows fall, but fall is my favorite. I’m ready for jeans and sweater weather and my knitting projects are in full swing. Next up in my mission for cozy is comfort food.

Atwater Market

The markets are in full harvest, transitioning from berries to apples and pumpkins, and Quebec sweet corn is was everywhere. I have six ears of beautiful yellow corn in my refrigerator and if I don’t do something with it now it will get forgotten.

Roasted Corn Chowder with Red Skin Potatoes and Bacon

  • 6 ears of corn, roasted
  • ~2 cups grated
  • ~1.5 cups cut
  • 4 strips of thick cut bacon, chopped
  • 2 Tbs Olive oil
  • 2 shallots, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 c celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 Tbs thyme
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 c flour
  • 1/2 c dry white wine
  • ~ 4 c water or stock
  • 3 c red skins potatoes, diced
  • 1 c cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

There are no photos of the finished product masterpiece. I’m sorry, we ate it all. It was delicious.

The best part about this chowder is the corn – we’re roasting it. Not only that, but we’re utilizing the natural starch in the corn to help thicken the chowder.

Brown your corn under the broiler, or grill it, to caramelize those natural sugars and bring out some amazing flavors. Once they brown and have had a chance to cool grab two bowls and a serrated knife. In one bowl, cut the corn off three ears and set aside. In the second, use a cheese grater to grate the other three. Using the back of your knife, scrape the corn cobs and collect the liquid in your grated corn bowl. I followed this great tutorial. It takes some elbow grease and its messy, but really worth it.

Chop up your bacon and fry it in your soup pot until crisp; set aside on some paper towel. Now, if you don’t have much bacon grease leftover then add some olive oil (my bacon was quite lean). Over medium heat, in the same pan, add your shallots and when translucent, add the garlic. Once your shallots and garlic start to get some color add the carrots and celery; cook until translucent. Add thyme, red pepper flakes, and flour, stirring until it becomes aromatic and the flour is cooked.

Time to deglaze! I love this part. Add your wine and scrape the bottom of the pan to get off all those tasty brown bits. Trust me, you want all that leftover bacon goodness.

Add your stock or water, potatoes, and grated corn, simmering until the potatoes are fork-tender, about 15 minutes.

Reduce the heat and add the cream, cut corn, and bacon.

Tada! Chowder! I’ve done the research for you, it freezes well so make large batches. You could omit the bacon and make it vegetarian, or substitute sautéed shrimp.

Enjoy.

– Jes

Leave a Reply

